Got your president chosen?

I never met George McGovern.  And, yet I did.  In 1972, as many of you pushing my age and generation recall, he was the Democrat’s presidential candidate against Richard Nixon.

I also remember that election in 1972 was the first time 18-year-olds could vote.

I also remember that what George McGovern lived as truth then was my own goal…to get out of Vietnam, to have integrity trump popularity.

So much so.  It came to me today when I just read [afternoon of October 17] that Senator McGovern, in hospice in his beloved home in South Dakota, is no longer responsive and expected not to live much longer.  Case is at 90 time now wins.

But, in a timeless fashion, truth wins more.

The memory was from June of 1972 when I was asked by the graduating class at South Eugene High School to give the commencement speech.  I was honored beyond words.  Did my research and in one section of the speech offered this, “If our country built one less main battle tank, the primary weapon in Vietnam to advance our troops, I could take that expense and put your entire graduating class through the University of Oregon, to graduation, and it would cost you nothing.”

Then the primary directive, “All you 18-year-olds.  This fall you will be able to vote for the president of our country for the first time.  I urge you to vote for the peace candidate who vows to end the Vietnam War NOW with no bombs attached.”

Before another word, a father jumped to his feet and shouted for God, country, Yale and those attending to hear, “RICHARD NIXON FOREVER!!!”  Then to join in protest, another father stood, put his hand over his heart and sang, “God Bless America.”  [Kate Smith could do it better.]

The newspaper owner and editor, good friend and member of our Eugene congregation, wasn’t there, but in noticing all the letters to the editor [those under 30 clapped and those over 30 jeered…get this Communist out of town!] called and asked for a copy of the speech.  I was pleased to send it his way.  Never heard another word.

Ah, those were the days.

Skip to last night—the 2nd presidential debate.  Two candidates, reflecting more rancor than I can remember, focus losing to rambling, facts often relegated to researchers, went at it.

And I wondered.  Although he’s comatose, what would Senator McGovern make of it?  Or Senator Wayne Morse [to my privilege a good personal friend and member of our Eugene congregation]?  Or Alaska’s Senator Gruening?  [Morse and Gruening were the ONLY TWO senators who voted against the Gulf of Tonkin resolution that gave President Johnson the authority to do whatever he wanted in Vietnam.]

So it is.  Back to McGovern.  In my mind and heart and soul a kindred spirit.  Wish he were able and could candidate again.  I truly believe it would be different.  Yep.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.