My Marching Orders

Clear I need to be. I never served in the military. If I had been drafted in the 60’s I would have accepted the call and become a Military Chaplain. My wife, Diane, has served in the Army, primarily in Berlin. My daughter-in-law, Jennifer, an attorney, is assistant secretary for installations with the Air Force and Assistant Deputy General Counsel with the Army Reserves, with a Pentagon office. My dear friend, Bob, and former church member at Broadmoor church, who flew on his own for my doctoral degree commencement service in St. Louis, is a retired General.

I was privileged to serve for 8 years at Broadmoor Community Church in Colorado Springs. During those years I became close friends with many of the retired military in our congregation. Two retired Generals, Charlie Duff from the Army and Bill Greenfield from the Air Force, nominated me to attend their respective War Colleges…the Army’s in Carlisle Barracks, Pennsylvania and the Air Force’s in Montgomery, Alabama. It was such a learning week, gathered with 49 other citizens to be updated on the latest realities of recently declassified military information.

Okay, the War College seminars were in the late 1980’s. Still, what impressed me was the integrity and competency and vision of the military, doing what needs to be done for safety and security.

Another okay admission. The world today, almost 30 years later, may be teetering, given the latest nuclear strike realities in North Korea, and unstable verbal fissures in too many countries, including our own.

It is a different world today.

To this, and I hope to share this next Sunday with the new friends at the First Christian Church in Lexington, I do not know the future. But I KNOW who holds the future. And, it’s not romance that I remember a radio program farewell in the 40’s in Portland, Oregon, before I was 10, “Today well lived makes every yesterday a dream of happiness and every tomorrow a vision of hope. Look well, therefore, to this day.”

I still do, down deep. Our journey should not be held captive by fear; it should be encouraged by faith. I trust. I trust that no military decision will be made that eschews diplomacy.

One more note. I find it both biblically and theologically reprehensible when a Washington D.C. pastor says that “God wants President Trump to nuke North Korea.” Whoa there, fella. Your misuse of the Bible slaps Jesus in the face. At least to me.

And in my Bible, Jesus doesn’t say nuke anyone. He says, “Do not fear; do not be afraid.” Those are my marching orders.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

