One Mermaid Meets Another Mermaid

Life has moments, some of which message beyond the occasion.

For instance, shared recently that last Sunday during my visit at a church in “rural Texas,” I met a man who shared his life as a “catcher.” Of course I thought of pitching. He, though, had something else in mind. He thought of “flying,” because he was a catcher in a circus. How special. He then showed me the “catcher grip,” so he wouldn’t fail to catch, either his father or his brother. Goodness, what a moment, to be secure because of someone else.

Another for instance. I read what was said by the Supreme Court Justice, Sonia Sotomayer, who said that in a sense, “Everyone has times when their bootstraps are missing.” That indicates not one of us journeys through life without not needing someone else to help.

And. At times, the special moment is when we find another has been helped…and we’d never guess.

I share the following from Facebook, how one mermaid met another mermaid. Really such a beautiful and powerful moment…how the blind girl helps us see…with a picture of the girl and the lady. Tug at my heart, maybe yours, too. I hope that’s the case.

And we can move from the tug to sharing our lives with someone else, especially when their bootstraps are gone.

YOU GUYS. I’m CRYING. After the Saturday matinee, there was a talkback that not many people had known about and few had signed up for — so I decided to do it. I am SO glad I did. After the talkback, I was walking up the aisle to leave the theater and get some much needed food when I was introduced to Miss Cora. I was a puddle. She is a beautiful, curious, polite, lover of mermaids six year old – who also happens to be blind. I got down on my knees and wanted to talk to her forever. She was the SWEETEST little girl. I had her feel my eyelashes from the show which I still had on – and she curiously felt my street clothes and asked where my mermaid tail was. The amazing Orpheum Theatre here in Memphis had an audio description in her ear so that she could “watch” the show just like every six year old should be able to. According to her mother, she loved every bit of it and laughed and saw just as much magic as any kid should. I will NEVER forget this experience and am so glad that Justin happened to see this and pass it along to me! As an actor, it’s so humbling and incredible to have those experiences when you are reminded that your job IS IMPORTANT. That you are given the opportunity to make magic a reality in the world – and to get to do that for the kids is EVERYTHING to me. I am forever changed from meeting sweet Cora and I am so grateful. Be the change you want to see in this world and make it a better place.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

