God…Please Don’t Be A Stranger

The neurosurgeon gave an indelible image of Paul’s cancer. Paul was 18, son of dear friends, back in the 70’s. The parents were told about Paul’s brain cancer, called astrocytoma I believe, “It is like pouring cherry juice into tapioca.” Which meant the invasive cancer cells were like capillaries into the brain. Surgery happened for Paul, but impossible to remove all the cancer.

Since then our nephew Brian has been diagnosed with a similar tumor. As were Joe Biden’s son and Ted Kennedy. And now. Yesterday the medical diagnosis of John McCain.

I don’t believe, for any one of us, medical reports don’t happen. Of course. There are extremes and there are EXTREMES.

To that, I remember Bill Coffin once shared with a group of clergy, “The primary task of preaching is to preach vulnerability.”

What that meant was not singular. It meant we were not holier than thou. It meant we were in sales and not management. It meant we could NEVER deny our own struggles in relationships when strife and control menaced civility.

I am deep in sorrow about Senator McCain. 80 years old. A Prisoner of War. Suffered untold punishment during those years. He doesn’t need our prayers to urge him to resign. To not remain a Senator. No, not that. Is my opinion.

And now.

I will pray this morning. For Brian. For Senator McCain. For many of you. No less, I will pray for myself, asking God to be with me…and not highlight the imperfections and the mistakes. But be my teacher so I can relate with an adult mentality…to help people live…no matter what the next MRI reveals.

Life is difficult. Life is complicated. Life is vulnerable. None of that is stranger to God…and may God never be stranger to us. Amen.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

