Dance As If No One’s Looking

I’ve had two dance instructors. Not that I can dance. Or even give it a hoof.

The first, probably the 8th grade at the Irvington Club in Portland, Oregon, the Murray Dance Studio. Even number of boys and girls. We’d line up opposite walls and walk in the same direction, meeting in the middle. From different schools, don’t remember nametags. Remember black slacks and shined shoes and white shirts.

We’d meet in the middle for our partner. I’m sure I wasn’t an exception to count as quickly to see how I’d partner up. Hey, 8th grade, puberty back in 1953 wasn’t in our vocabulary, but learning dances was…waltz, rumba, fox-trot…cannot remember the names…but I do know when I got to Jefferson High School and went to sock-hops, it was either the twist or the Jeff Hop. Waltz never made it.

Then, one night in Texas—had always heard about the Texas 2-step, but never was in a situation where it happened. Until I was in a very small village in south-central Texas, called Zuehl, maybe 50 people with a 300-member church and an 8-pin bowling alley, a rooster farm [for fighting] and a small fellowship center. Went with some friends from that church to a hoe-down. An honest-to-Texas-Band from San Antonio, plucking away. Lots of middle-age couples, dancing to their hearts’ content.

Lana, who along with her husband Don [God rest his soul] hosted me. Lana, who’s a firecracker in terms of energy and enthusiasm, grabbed my arm, “Come on, Preacher. Time to learn the Texas Two-Step.” And, off we went. Well, off she went. I followed…sort of. Everyone dancing in a circle, in the same direction, which was counter-clockwise. Never learned what was wrong with clockwise???

So, where does all this go? Hey, ‘tis a July Tuesday and came across a Facebook page from Tommie Pinkard…a dear friend. She and her husband moved from Austin to be with family…think in North Carolina. She posted about a family of 12. Yep. 12. And in this video, they dance. That’s an understatement. In tribute to their Irish heritage. I loved it…and my toes tapped. Not to follow; only to enjoy. And. It has nothing to do with a two-step or Waltz. But, to think. A family of 12, each gifted to share in moments of joy.

Think there’s something about theology and discipleship and church about that. But, you can take it from here.

Enjoy!

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

