Death Came Too Early

It is Sunday morning, July 16, 2017. A blog on memory has been posted. I then went to MSN.Com, one of my news sources and came upon devastation and profound gratitude and hope.

It hit me in both ways. Maryam Mirzakhani. I was devastated to read of this mathematician’s death at the age of 40. She has battled breast cancer for 4 years…the cancer spread to her bone marrow. She died. But I was also so grateful and hopeful for who she was. As a wife, as a mother, as a professor.

When I read this article, a myriad of thoughts and feelings zigged and zagged, almost like water bugs. Yet, there was coherence.

This professor was also a mother and wife and daughter. She was awarded Mathematics Medal of Honor for her creativity. No less, perhaps even more, she was Iranian. She obtained a phD at Harvard in 2004, taught at Princeton, then in 2008 joined the Stanford faculty.

Her roots said so much to me…that all across the earth God creates each human life, and plants in them God’s image. Which as my wonderful professor Douglas Meeks taught me 30 years ago, means “each of us is authorized to represent God.”

Whether or not Maryam Mirzakhani is a Christian, in my personal view, is irrelevant. I assume she’ll be honored in the beliefs of her faith. For certain that NEEDS to happen. And, as my faith believes, she is never to be a stranger to God.

In reading the article linked below, I couldn’t see because this lady…oh, my. Tears refused to stop. Brilliance and humility. And. Only 40 years of age. That hit me deeply. And with it, the hope…for everyone reading my 2nd blog today [cannot wait until Monday to share this!] we EACH are resolved to do whatever we can in our human journey to walk as well as we can, to make the lives of others move toward greater well-being.

I never knew this lady. And yet. I do. Because of her profound manner of living…so her death brings devastation and hope. For each of us. And hopefully the hope is never subjugated.

http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/world/maths-genius-maryam-mirzakhani-dies-aged-40/ar-BBErHkN?li=BBmkt5R&ocid=spartandhp

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

