Somewhere Over The Rainbow–Inspiration Always

I don’t know the time or date. But I do know the moment. I was driving along the railroad street through Snoqualmie, Washington, where Diane and I lived…it was a during an interim ministry at Mercer Island.

A thought began to marinate for a new novel. I then heard IZ sing this powerful and poignant song, “Somewhere Over the Rainbow.”

It then hit me…not everyone, in fact most everybody I know, doesn’t experience every lemon drop melt. I thought of my hero, Trisha Gleason, about to start a licensed ministry in Snoqualmie…and the rest, can be said, is history. The novel, “The Lemon Drop Didn’t Melt,” was published, realizing that there was trouble about river city…for Trisha and her ministry, and through the course of my own ministry. The novel, albeit fiction, doesn’t lack personal moments.

Somehow, though, IZ, brought consolation and hope. For dreams should never stop and the new day never unwelcomed.

So, today, as I consider each of my friends, most certainly you who read this, know that it’s okay to break in to tears. I do when they scatter IZ’s ashes to the waters—my own vision for relevance when life moves on. And I realize, so many people who have such struggles, never cease their hope and greet each new day with a YES, let’s live!

May that be for you…my so valued friends…those who’ve shared their deepest shattered time and those who know that being alone happens, but loneliness doesn’t when solitude is present…and people like you never forget others.

I rejoice with this song…and may…with God’s Will and your own resolve and determination, appreciate how your troubles like lemon drops DO melt…

Somewhere over the rainbow
Way up high
And the dreams that you dreamed of
Once in a lullaby

Somewhere over the rainbow
Blue birds fly
And the dreams that you dreamed of
Dreams really do come true ooh oh

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where trouble melts like lemon drops
High above the chimney top
That’s where you’ll find me

Oh, somewhere over the rainbow bluebirds fly
And the dream that you dare to,
Oh why, oh why can’t I?

Well I see trees of green and red roses too,
I’ll watch them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world

Well I see skies of blue
And I see clouds of white
And the brightness of day
I like the dark
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people passing by
I see friends shaking hands
Singing, “How do you do?”
They’re really singing, “I…I love you.”

I hear babies cry and I watch them grow,
They’ll learn much more than we’ll know
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world

Someday I’ll wish upon a star,
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where trouble melts like lemon drops
High above the chimney top
That’s where you’ll find me

Oh, somewhere over the rainbow way up high
And the dream that you dare to, why, oh why can’t I?

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

