Doubt Can Save Our World…And Our Lives

Started my morning with Faith choosing to not participate. Didn’t realize this had later meaning. So, Copper and Caleb and I began our morning jaunt. Went well, mainly because the less than cooperative neighbor didn’t show. Tried to explain to him a few days ago the dilemma with Copper wanting to protect me and his two buddies when strangers walk our way, [No Dog Whisperer I] but he only smirked and continued to walk toward us. Smirks don’t win on my field. Anyway.

Faith was reluctant, so the walk was three and not four. That went very smoothly. Upon our return Faith waited by her leash, “Okay, Dad, I’m ready now.” I’ve learned to read her wagging tail. So. Faith and I walked and for whatever reason, any lapse in doing what we wanted to do well [thank you, Miss Carter for my grammar focus!] not feeling well flitted away, nowhere to be felt.

Then. Returned home and received this e-mail from Mike Murray. As you beloved readers know, Mike Murray is a beautiful, wonderful and incredibly wise friend. He “just happens” to be a world-wide consultant on leadership, has led seminars for me when in Texas conference ministry on how to work more effectively with our congregations. But. Most of all. I treasure our friendship. He’s a Truth Friend, so quarterly [at least] we have breakfast at the 5-star Jim’s on #183. When leaving our breakfast, I’m ALWAYS in better spirits. It is Mike’s fault.

Now. The e-mail. He’s responding to the blog from yesterday, “The Necessity of Doubt.” And suddenly. I linked it with Faith’s reluctance—Faith being more than my English Cocker Spaniel. Even more, I linked it to how the future can become less ominous and onerous. Although, I doubt some of the world leaders never get to D in the alphabet. They’re stuck on A,,,as in arrogance. Sigh.

Thanks, Mike…my Monday begins with value. Again, it’s all your fault.

With grace, peace and love,

Mark.

Mike Murray ministers: “Observation: recently, on the Colbert show, Colbert interviewed one of the actors that starred in Silence, the story of two priests who went to Japan in the 1700 hundreds. Colbert asked the actor about his own faith and he said the most important aspect of
his faith was doubt! Colbert was surprised and challenged the young actor. His response
was classic: He said something along the lines of ‘Certainty is what leads to war. There is
nothing more important than carrying a certain doubt about your truth claims; it keeps you
humble and makes you ready to listen to truth claims of other human beings in a way that
you cannot listen if you are too certain and have no doubt!’ WOW; and on an evening
entertainment show! Thomas got it right, in my estimation!
Mike M.”

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

