God…Beyond and Within

A view from the bridge…or the mountain-top…or the shadowed valley floor.

How God functions.

Believe…and for a while, measured in decades, this has impacted and fueled my ministry…how we see God is the manner in which we live life. Yep, have said many times when a person answers, “Tell me about your God,” you hear an autobiography. In other words, the biography of God IS the autobiography of living.

Which means God is “there and here” but is not in control. Unless. A big unless. We center our question not, “What would Jesus do?” but “What would God have me do.”

Because I don’t believe…and this trembles some of my relationships with people in Texas…that Jesus is the only avenue to God. There are other paths. Not for me. I go with Reinhold Niebuhr, “Jesus Christ is the supreme revelation of God’s love.” When I ask about God’s Will, it is understanding Jesus’ manner of living. That is not prescriptive, but it is intensely and intimately descriptive.

THAT to me is essential…what is God’s love and how can I convey same?

It’s a heavy question, but one which requires maturity and wisdom and memory. For no situation’s need is obvious or set.

In fact, I had a chance to offer my special interest in ministry…called stewardship consulting…and was told my place was in the home and not with churches. Hmmmm….

But that is not a deterrent. There are, to coin the fishing phrase, there are other fish to fry. Or. Something like that.

So. My God. My God is not a Puppeteer. Wow, if that were the case. But, it’s not. Rather God is always with me and for me…and always understands me. But. God never wants me to not quest to become more because such happens when I never give less of myself.

Okay. Preachy. But on this Friday, which will be good in its own manner…as long as I don’t consider events to be God’s judgments. Rather, I consider this day and what happens, to be “occasions for love to happen.” For you see, my relationship with God is not, “Yes, Sir” or “No, Sir.” My relationship with God is covenantal…we will each give our fullest for the good of the relationship.

My “morning go-to” guy, Tom Ehrich, put it well…with a vision and reality of reciprocity and mutuality, when it comes to God and me/you and others and life and love unfolding today:

“I would agree that God doesn’t control our lives or cause all things to be. I see God as one who nudges – who lights a path, perhaps, and leaves us free to walk it or reject it. I believe God’s providence is like water pouring forth: we can use it for life and health, we can abuse it for personal gain, we can hoard it, we can whine for more. God’s part is to give the water.”

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

