Imagine

Life has too many boundaries. Outside the box is verbal but seldom if ever reality. No less, these words may chafe in the best of reactions. Can be read as unchurching churches and religions and heaven and hell. I don’t endorse. Not a solution…very profoundly. Yet, I share, perhaps it was the moment I heard it…the John Lennon song, “Imagine.” For it brings a foundation of relationships, for every one of us, whether spiritual or religious or nothing, that can matter.

Okay. A dream. YET. How in the world, how in our nations, how in our lives…will there ever be Shalom, the well-being in the soul? This is no contest to name the riff and raff and tragedies. Today we spell London. What’s tomorrow? One can become cynical and blaming and choosing to have our arrogance scare away any modicum of humility and our importance dwarf any value in anyone else. As for integrity and truth? Think Time has their headline spot on, “Is Truth Dead? The challenge, enormously important: How can each of us, in the very manner by which we live, not be controlled by hate and bigotry and possessions? That CAN be done…if only we individually give it a try.

This song, though, by John Lennon and sung by the Pentatonix brought goodness to my personal world and my manner of caring. Deepened both. What I ask? I ask for 5 minutes and let this preach. And think. Five minutes is shorter than any sermon you’ve probably ever heard.

Here are the words by John Lennon and sung by Pentatonix:

Imagine
Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people living for today
Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people living life in peace, you
You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope some day you’ll join us
And the world will be as one
Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need…

The signs the group presents tell the best story…the very best. Brought joy to me how caring can happen.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

