When Life Poisons

In spite of the theological vulnerability, I believe God has a Purpose but not a Plan. At least for my life. And how each day unfolds. It’s not a matter of set; rather, it’s a calling for perception. But. Never perfection, and as stated previously, no matter how good my efforts are, God’s are always better, and no matter how strongly I fail, God is always there.

Prompting this has been the last month…when contacts with new people, dynamics almost ineffable but still shared…and somehow for them and me…a new purpose “is there.” Not beyond arm’s length or in the future, “but there.” Might call them “new residents in the heart.”

I only look at that as a purpose God has for me. Okay, theological sword drillers might fuss a little. The purpose came alive today. No less than two days ago In the previous blog to listen to Lee.

And now, just minutes ago to share about the mutual journeys with a dear friend. Names not important, however, circumstances are.

This friend is my generation, has served in ministry. For the last 15 years has focused upon music, leading a choir and then personal teaching for voice and piano. The friend also led a choir in an assisted living center. Ah, how delightful.

With that the friend cultivated a neighborhood garden. Pulled weeds to start the season. Saw the next-to-my-friend’s garden, that garden lady had no weeds. My friend thought nothing of it.

But then. [Not a plan but a circumstance.] My friend became ill, got pneumonia, in the hospital on Christmas Eve, and had multiple tests, to learn “the item” causing her congestion and difficulty in breathing was a herbicide used to get rid of the weeds next to her garden plot. It was 2,4-D. Can you imagine? Element used in Agent Orange. Mercy!

Now my friend is on oxygen and can only teach her voice and piano lessons very seldom for many fewer students.

This friend and I have had enriching ministries…and yet, something like this tears at the soul. The friend, though, in ministry ALWAYS did more than expected. My prayers go to the friend, as well as the friend to me. Visiting was better for me than any sermon where people refused to work on their shopping list…and hopefully a tug of hope from me.

Hopefully God’s purpose was alive and connecting and helpful for both of us. I know. Absolutely. Helpful to me from my friend. No less, my hope caring was reciprocating.

And that. Is what friendship is about.

Right?

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

