Where Do You Put Your Shoes?

I’m no different than any other preacher I know. Not even a hint different. The time lapse varies, but personally in about six months, I knew, for about 90% of those worshipping [most of whom were regular attenders] how they would respond to a sermon.

Because I never used the pulpit for political purposes, that was pretty safe. However, when the “lean” was to a social/justice program, their eyes never kept responses hidden.

Why this? Because this morning it hit me: why would anyone want to be in a political office? A headline that Kellyanne Conway put her shoes on the Oval Office Couch? And then a series of pictures with President Obama using his desk as a shoe stop?

I don’t think…and this has to do with every responder you can name—especially any news channel [really, we each can describe those devoted to FOX News or CNN]—we are more than surface-caught-up on what we think and whom we hate.

That’s, very down deep, sad. For some, Trump will never miss the mark. For others, “impeachment” rolls off the tongue like “hello, how are you?”

I will watch and do my best to not wince or applaud tonight during the State of the Union speech. I really will. Because, and I sent a MSN news item this morning to my friends who know economics so much better than I [which doesn’t take much, believe me] to respond to “what will it take for our grandchildren to be better off than we are?”

So. To each of us…I’m holding a mirror that has transforming power to become a window, how can we focus on matters that matter? For me that’s a point toward war economy and infrastructure and education and entitlements. So. Said again. Each of us is real and human. And each of us matter. No matter where we put our shoes.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

