Kindness Anyone?

My perspective? Could be only self-serving. Could be a complete erosion of humility. On the other hand, it could be helpful. Let me go for it now.

This morning in his reflection Tom Ehrich made a case for kindness. Before reading him I saw on Yahoo.com that the surrogates of President Elect Trump and Secretary Clinton, “went at it during a Harvard public event last night.” The article made the case that Clinton supporters still are in denial. And Trump winners make it clear they prevailed. I’m not one to be absolute, but believe Ehrich makes it important to not evacuate kindness. No matter. Win or loss. Top or not making it.

I go with kindness. In fact, although this could not become law but wishfully would hope it could, when couples find relationships dripping with excess complaining and blaming, I’d love to encourage them to not make one negative comment before acknowledging three positive declarations. That is, change the imbalance between whining and wine-ing. [Hey, wordsmithing has its privileges.]

That brought to mind…evidence of kindness [here comes perhaps a lessening if not full erasure of humility] was experienced this past week. I flew from Austin to Seattle, then drove to Forks. [Picture evidence to follow]

What I try to do…and it doesn’t matter from where to where…I have a mantra. It goes like this as I share with you what I wrote Tom:

Thank you, Tom…I would wager no one can dispute the results of kindness. No one. In fact, although this may appear somewhat unusual if not psychotic, I make it my mantra, whenever I get to an airport [doesn’t matter, name any], before my flight boards I look…not as if I’m up to mischief…rather, I’m up to kindness. I do my best to find the TSA agent who looks at everyone with an attitude, as if we are each terrorists. I get in front of them and it goes like this, “Ma’am? May I ask you a question?” The nod is tentative, but it’s still a modest form of permission. I continue, “Has anyone stopped and thanked you for helping this airport be safer for us?”

The eyes arch and the head shakes, “Never. I never get recognized with gratitude.”

I nod, “Well, it’s now happening; thank you for what you do to help us.”

It happened in the Austin Airport a week ago today before my Seattle flight. Suddenly the TSA agent shook her head and whispered, “Thank you.” She then wiped tears from her cheeks.

Ah, the place for kindness.

Ok, to push humility somewhat aside, the picture below from last Tuesday…the fish is a winter steelhead…I’m the one without the gills. It was one of the best moments ever…and clearly…evidence my guide, Bob Ball, knows how to fish. As I try to be a good student.

steelhead-from-calaway-river-november-28-2016

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

