The Noise Didn’t Win

So much is noise. Noise shouting. Noise accusing. Noise wanting to be recognized.

For many, their personal landscape is without life. Lots of dust swirled by wind. Nothing green for summer. Nothing red and orange and yellow, God’s paintbrush, for Fall. The noise.

A couple of days ago a lady stood behind me in the grocery store check-out. She had a gentle smile, looked at my shoulder and not my eyes. She couldn’t see if there was a chip there. She had two small packages of tortillas…in one of those “why not?” moments I said, “Let me take care of this for you,” as I pointed to her two small packages. She grabbed them as if I was a threat. Shook her head. Puzzled brow that had not vacated fear.

I figured it out. Sometimes it takes time. She couldn’t understand English. To the cashier, “Ma’am, do you speak Spanish?” She shook her head.

I explained what I’d like to do, “Please ring up these two items…put it on my tab.”

I then felt a tap on my shoulder, “Sir? Thank you; my mother appreciates it.”

The smiling lady then explained to her mother. I think the mother then understood as the pursed lips turned to a smile.

Maybe. Maybe a moment when it wasn’t noise. Maybe a moment when connection happened.

Of course I don’t know. The point was….

But for many…and I’m not exempt…random acts of caring, way too often, are blared out by the shouting, the whining, the noise.

Thought of that this morning…how many…again, myself not excluded…find the human landscape to lack vitality, life, even the will to breathe. A wasteland, given theme on every news broadcast.

Then. The noise turned to a quiet solitude…as this youtube showed up at my computer this morning. So. I listened. I saw the dust and landscape and nodded. In all that, even with mountains in the background the music and voices…just 5 in the group…brought a chorus of “Hallelujah.” I could no longer hear the noise…and the swirling dust didn’t choke me.

The day is still to be…but hopefully so are you…and I. To know at the deepest level, noise doesn’t win, doesn’t have a chance. The music went deep…and it will continue…as sustenance, as truth, as good news. I share…and hopefully you will give up 5 minutes of your day…and find the bucolic, the goodness. For each of us…

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

