What Matters?

What matters? Not academic. Personal. Very personal. For each of us.

We can list a number of answers. It matters that I continue to breathe. [That’s not simply a “duh,” because for some, not many, but some, that wouldn’t be the first priority.]

A quagmire to that, basic breathing, are many contesting forces. These items matter: who is the next president of our country; how we define our personal citizenship when singing the national anthem; whether our income is not dwarfed by our expenses; whether our medical “situations” are not dire with a calendar attached to them; whether our kids receive and contribute to with their energy and focus a good education; whether our parenting skills bring the best for our kids…and from us; whether who we are matters both when mirroring and looking through the mirror as a window to life and circumstance we engage.

Personally, what matters starts with theology. Not with someone else’s opinion. Not with my blood sugar measurement. Not with what the scale says. It starts with these realities that with every effort I try never to blur or discard:

God has gifted my life.

God has gifted my day.

God has gifted each moment.

Being created in the “image of God” means I am authorized to represent God.

May I do that…no matter what. Even when standing in the grocery line and offering to pay for the person ahead of me. Even when getting up at oh-dark-thirty to attend our grandson’s grandparent breakfast. Even when being told the unwelcomed from my doctor about the need to jack-up the mg level of my meds.

It is to live each day…NO MATTER WHAT…with the primary relationship with God never secondary. And the ways in which imaging happens…to have integrity and effort…not to dazzle…but to live and breathe and have my being.

That matters.

Now. Secondary mattering.

Go Broncos. Go Cubs. Go Spurs. Secondary but not unimportant or irrelevant.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

