Barking and Tumbling Shouldn’t Rule Our Day

How often…more than that…do we stand for the National Anthem…and think about the words and the abiding truth about courage and freedom? Probably rarely. At least that’s my own reality. My fault.

This morning…walking the dogs…our morning “thing,” I tumbled. A lovely teenage girl was walking her very large white husky, coming our way on the sidewalk. I took our three, Faith, Caleb and Copper, to the street center, to get out of the way. [We live in a quiet neighborhood.] Copper, who at 70 pounds would never be called “Mr. Before” howled and started to head for the husky. I tried my best…which was well short of good enough…and bam, down I went, off went “my 3” and fortunately the only result was my tumble and the dogs’ verbal offerings. I learned my lesson. Next time…and there’ll be a next time…I know now how to keep my three under control.

Still, the reality is…there’s not a one of us who doesn’t tumble, who doesn’t think back and KNOW we could have done it better. The reality is not to bemoan the mistake…but to learn from it. To not learn is worse than not good, it is unacceptable.

Came home, scrolled through this and that…realized this is a holiday for America of independence…and came upon this reality…a singing of the National Anthem. It is special. It is vital and vitalizing. At least to and for me. Star Swain…you brought joy to my day….

Maybe even for your day.

So, on this Friday, first moments of a 4-day weekend, may this blog reach you…and may you have goodness in you and through you…no matter how barking the moments may be. That’s my hope…especially with family who battle brain cancer…and my cowboy buddy dealing with some blooding where it shouldn’t be. And, for Andrew, who will have a birthday on July 7…and this weekend is in Central America attending the wedding of Alan…such a treasured friend.

So, take a moment now…will you…for this start of our weekend…to know we are blessed…

http://wtop.com/?p=9279956

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

