Ever Sing Your Own Song?

I’m never overstating when I brag about Art Johnson. Short back story. He’s a member of the First Christian Church of San Marcos. I applied to be their interim minister; Art was on the Church Council. Was called for that interim. A few months later Art invited me to lunch…at Logan’s Roadhouse in San Marcos. Didn’t announce his agenda; that didn’t matter, it really didn’t.

He asked if I would “bless” the meal. Of course. Then, before he picked up his fork he said, “I need to be honest with you. I’ve made a mistake. When you interviewed to be our interim I voted against you. I was wrong. Thanks for being our interim.”

Oh, my. Make that a double-oh-my. Since that lunch, pushing more than 5 years, Art and I have a quarterly lunch at the Roadhouse, our favorite watering hole. He is the dearest of friends. All I have to do is think of him…and value never hides.

This morning. It’s Saturday morning and Art sends me, each Saturday morning, “his sermon.” That’s my nomenclature. It’s his weekly summary of the business results for McCoy Building Materials in Texas. This morning he made two statements that preach.

The first:

One of the stores, in Bryan, Texas often is the top marketer. They didn’t rate that this past week. Then, this is so Art Johnson. Instead of berating, instead of asking Bryan why they failed, they dipped? Instead of making it an issue, Art said in passing, but mind you, it was riveting for me, “They had a chance to catch their breath.”

That’s great. Art looked not at the shadows. Nope. He gave a positive. Which makes it clear. Art Johnson could never run for a political office. Never. Because he refuses to berate and demean.

Second note that preaches. He shared that he and his wife, Charlene, like to watch “The Voice.” Evidently this week there were 4 finalists. Instead of singing someone else’s song, they each sang a song they wrote. Which made evident their own journey. It was THEIR SONG that made a difference and let people know who they are. There was more passion and involvement and emotion.

Well, maybe. Maybe you and I have moments…that stretch to the very lengthy…when we only allow ourselves to sing someone else’s song. Never our own.

That’s sad. But, I wager. It’s true.

So. On this Saturday morning, why don’t we—each of us–try singing our own song…our given-ness…our personal value…our self. Because I believe…our own song brings a greater truth…which hopefully knows that the “who we are” has goodness. If we will only look for it. It’s there. Got it?

Okay. A little preachy. And if it misconnects don’t blame Art Johnson. He’s busy this morning singing his song. And I’ll try my own.

How about you?

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

