A Cane Moment

Not all helping moments are planned…except, of course, for designated days—holidays, birthdays, surgery scheduled. In fact, most helpful moments happen spontaneously. With that, they’re “just in front of you.”

Case in point. It was the latter “what can I do to help?” moment that just happened in the HEB Grocery Store lot. I had my list, knew which aisles could help me. Locked my car. As I started for the cart section I noticed a man trying his best to empty items in his cart into his trunk. It was not going well.

He had the body language of frustration. Two packages he couldn’t even lift. No one from the store was there to help. They must have missed that.

So, with no egg-timer on my day doing something good for someone? Give it a try.

I asked the gentleman, who could barely stand up, took a few moments to lift his head from his hunched-over position, and looked at me with some curiosity. I asked, “Might I help you?”

He nodded, “Thanks.” Got to the task of putting bags of groceries in his trunk. Finished, reached for the cart, “Let me take the cart back to the store.”

He put up his hand and I thought he said, still again because of his appreciation for the help, “Thanks.”

I nodded, “Glad to help.” Started to push the cart. He said, “Thanks,” again. I stopped. He looked concerned. Was waving his hand. I waved back. He shook his head. Something was wrong.

I looked in the cart. Oh, my. He wasn’t saying a word of gratitude; he was declaring need. He was saying, a man of few words, “Cane!”

There it was, in the corner of the cart. His cane.

Well, listen. My hearing isn’t that good. And, if he hadn’t said anything I wouldn’t have stopped. Because the cart was silver—the same color of his cane. Not that I would have even looked. Sigh.

Okay. Just a moment in the help business. But, thankfully, the gentleman didn’t give up.

The cane is now in its proper hands. And I’m smiling…because to help could have gone worse. But it didn’t.

And now. I need to confirm an appointment for a tooth extraction. Gosh, the day has its up’s and out’s. And I wonder. If the oral surgeon will give me the tooth so I can secret it home and place it under my pillow.

Never know….right?

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

