Prayers Matter

This morning, with a boost and not a jolt, Tom Ehrich voiced comfort and peace. I appreciate him of being a voice of comfort and peace…and where necessary he’s really irksome. Because he keeps me from resting and not caring. And truth. I really don’t need more sleep. I really don’t. Still, naps visit far more frequently. That’s okay.

Ehrich voiced this. Might it provide a boost to you:

“Thus God makes a day. Not by sending clouds away, but by inhabiting the clouds. Not by banishing all tears, but by holding tears to water our lives. Not by making everyone happy, but by revealing the holy. Not by leaving a hillside scattered with the remains of battle, but by walking among the dead and then joining them.

God makes a day by being present in it. Our prayers shouldn’t be shallow petitions for success and sunlight, but deeper pleas for glimpses of grace that give us courage to live. We rejoice in God, not in our victories. We find gladness in grace, not in abundance.

Some might think Holy Week has been tarnished by terrorist bombings in Brussels and Mali. On the contrary, the Passion now has deeper meaning. We won’t have the courage to cancel the flowers and festival choruses, because we are afraid to offend. But God has opened a day in which flowers and choruses serenade the suffering, not ourselves.”

Prayers, at least more than not, carry the pulse of my day. But the prayers, hopefully although I don’t avoid it at times, aren’t self-serving. For instance, I don’t pray that catching will be abundant. Fishing serves just fine. I don’t pray that my application to be a semi-finalist in the James Patterson write-a-novel contest will make it. But I do pray that what has been submitted will be considered. I don’t pray for my new novel, now the contact’s been signed, will be appreciated. I really don’t. I simply hope it will be read. And waaaay lonnnng ago it is still vivid…in pitching baseball before my first pitch I did not pray for victory. Only for effort.

But, truth deeper and well past occasionally. My prayers are more for people than for any other cause.

For those embattled against cancer…that Carol and Brian somehow know an inner peace they matter to God, they are not strangers to God and will never be separated from God’s presence. That Don and Judy realize that Judy’s Parkinson’s is real but doesn’t have to delete her value. That Paul can find in his own poetry of being an artist a consolation and hope for goodness. For those whose ego dwarfs their heart, they might learn that being elected, really down deep in the greatest value in life isn’t as important as they think. That John and Dawn know their caring for wounded veterans makes a huge difference for the good. That Margaret knows her caring for the children in Port au Prince, Haiti, is a ministry that celebrates life through nurturing and educating the children.

And that you…and you…and you…know that a worthier manner of life is when understanding is more valued and conveyed than judgment…and…that our prayers lead to our living…so our words become deeds. That in the final note, our lives are not deedless words…or wordless deeds.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

