The Need For Nudging

I don’t remember reading this story. Maybe did. Not the point.

The point is such a lovely story…that is more than meets the eye.

Have finished the James Patterson Master Class on how REALLY to write a novel. Good points. My notes will be saved…and in a newer novel, included. Although many—my luck here—made it in the current, “The Lemon Drop Didn’t Melt.”

More important to get back to the class. In his last session, Patterson talked about “nudging.”

He relayed a story he read in the San Francisco Chronicle. About a whale that was ensnarled in all kinds of fishing and net lines in the San Francisco Bay. It was trapped. A number of folk went to the whale and spent half a day snipping all the binding wires and lines. They freed the whale. The whale could now live.

When the whale was completely freed from the snarls it didn’t head to the ocean…at least not right away.

Instead it hovered near the liberators and nudged them…a gesture of gratitude. The liberators were appreciated. The whale nudged the gratitude.

I thought that a nudge needed to James Patterson. That has happened courtesy of the Post Office.

But now I need to nudge lots of folks…on a personal level those who have helped the novel be fiction based upon reality. But even more, others who mean a lot to me…and they may never have realized that.

For in truth. Name me one…one person you know who has never been ensnarled.

Can You? If you say yes I have only one response, LIAR!!!!

Now, take a moment and do some nudging…before you go on your own way.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

