Handicap? You Decide

Handicap? Not a word to derail…or compromise…or….

I remember clearly, although it was 1971. Had been blessed to join a clergy group of 14 to visit Germany, both West and East. One beautiful October day I sat in a very warm German church sanctuary, listening to a lecture “auf Deutsch.” Sitting next to me was Harold Wilke, a wonderful clergy colleague and national staff in our denomination, the United Church of Christ.

Harold leaned over, “Mark, would you wind my watch for me?” [The days when watches needed attention.]

Tried to be as casual as possible. Think you’d understand when a wrist watch was on his ankle. For you see, since birth Harold Wilke had no arms, so the watch was on his ankle. Never. Never ever ever—and we ate meals together and sang hymns together, was it apparent Harold was armless. Because he was never heartless or courage-less or tenaciousless or lovingless.

Today a note from Carol Stanley, who had surgery for cancer-removal last week, during which 25% of her tongue was removed. Carol, a dear friend, is a therapist. She made it clear. Now living in North Carolina, having moved from Seattle, she comments about her friends…who support one team or the other, Carolina Panthers or Seattle Seahawks…and then about cancer and about faith:

“I have glimpses of the light through my Cancer, now in the painful stage of healing….Yesterday there was snow before the Seahawk-Panther game. And for me, uniquely me, either team could win and people I love would be ecstatic….and some not so. I really had a happy ending either way. And then today….looking out on our small part of heaven in our view, I see sun dancing on the lake’s surface. The dance is God’s shiny expression of hope. God’s gift to me. And there are No losers in this game of “Carol Vs. Cancer” . I am already a winner and claim the SuperBowl a WIN by me. I am Claimed by my God…. “

Carol Stanley…YOU are SUCH an inspiration…for EVERY day!!!

My “blog resource guy,” Doug White, sent the link below…about a 3 year old boy…and how he lives life and hits a golf ball…with only one arm. Handicapped? Not in his heart…or in his parents’ heart or with Bubba Watson and Arnold Palmer cheering him on. How inspiring? TOTALLY!

How about you…for whatever daunts you…you, no less than I, have two choices: either put together our own, our very own self-pity party….OR….kick some serious backside and get with living fully this new day.

http://player.theplatform.com/p/BxmELC/gc_player/select/I_6m3VpqoakQ

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

