Fishing Is More Important Than Catching–Not!

My memory, though some twinges of fading, never lacks clarity when recalling fishing adventures. I could—but I won’t—tell you about my first salmon, 1949 at the learning age of 9, losing a 20 pound Spring Chinook Salmon.

Ah, fishing. Some say it’s all about being out and about, casting…and at times, catching. Seeing the eagles soar, the wind getting its voice rippling the water into large choppiness, knowing the Psalmist has it on target, “The earth is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof.” Or something like that. It’s the journey and not the destination. It’s the time on the river. It’s the casting…feeling the surge of anticipation…will this be the catching cast? NOTHING’S more important than fishing. Catching is a footnote.

Well, folks. Every word of that last paragraph, as I scripted it, my nose grew. And grew.

Truth revisited: CATCHING MATTERS.

Especially after fishing a good work day for two days and only having a fish bite [and no fish brought to the net] each day. I thought, “What is this?” I thought of “Am I here to not even catch one fish?” as my Forks guide, Bob Ball, and I had breakfast. Fished beautiful water on Tuesday on the Skagit River and on Thursday with Bob on the Calawah. That’s was fishing and not catching.

We launched on the Calawah. Here’s Bob getting everything ready:

DSCF0815

We fished with a bobber floating the surface and a shrimp bait beneath about 3 feet. Let me first say the Calawah River is my favorite. It’s also the riskiest to float; only about 10% of the guides fish it. Bob is one of those 10% guides. Which is good because it never becomes combat fishing, darting around like water bugs trying to fish a hole for the first time that day.

The “REAL” adventure began. About 30 minutes downstream the bobber darted down, the hook-set [always try to reach midnight on a clock motion—lifting straight up] and in my mind at least…wish I had a camera, the fish exploded to the river’s surface, did its acrobat jumping…and then to the net. Goodness, it probably was 17 pounds. Now that’ a FISH. Bob got a good picture. Pretty big:

Bob Ball Steelhead 3, January 15, 2016

We released the fish…and three others…because they were wild/native steelhead. Was catch and release.

Then a 5th fish…so beautiful…a wild/native steelhead…a chrome bright hen. Bob said we’d tether it to the boat and then put it in a tube and take it to the hatchery, so it could be helping future steelhead to spend a year in the river, then head to the ocean and return to the spawning spot in three years [those are the larger ones].

Here’s a pict of the 5th steelhead:

Bob Ball Steelhead January 15, 2016

About to get on a jet plane and return to Austin. Ah, what memories…how fishing can be “down” and “up.” And to think…in 3 years maybe I can return to the Calawah…and catch the son or daughter of this beautiful steelhead. Now THAT’S a life cycle worth waiting for!

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

