A Final Note[s] For 2015

It’s the last day morning of 2015. Am sitting in the most wonderful B&B, Jay Lee in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin. In a bit will visit Fred and Louise Trost in their home…then will drive to Milwaukee Airport Motel, to return to Austin tomorrow morning.

The last two days have been better than any game plan could envision. So touching and joyful, to celebrate Fred’s 80th Birthday, but no less, to affirm Louise. My contention is this: unless you are the spouse of a clergyperson, you have NO IDEA of the daunting challenges to keep the family well together. As a mentor and brother in faith, Fred, on a 1-10 pushes a 14. No less on that scale for Louise. Amazing. Each of their 4 daughters and 1 son are angels impersonating human beings.

To craft my last 2015 blog, I have three images…my version of trinity-affirmation.

The first is this: as we concluded our birthday celebration last night, Simon [8] and his sister, Clare [5]—Fred and Louise’s grandchildren, walked around the family and friends gathered [in a circle] and said good-bye to each of us! That so struck me with such value—the personal caring, the “glad we are together” mentality and praxis. Joy in the full. Oh yes.

Then, this morning I received a lovely note from a former parishioner, Marilyn Gregory [at First Christian Church in San Marcos]. Marilyn’s a teacher, a teacher of teachers, President of the Teacher’s Association and a dear friend. She sent me this Thoreau quote [guess my passion for fishing reminded her of it]…and now it gives me the greatest insight to the REAL purpose of fishing…which I hope to do in a couple of weeks. Thanks, Marilyn…your perception is on target!

“Time is but the stream I go a-fishing in.”
Henry David Thoreau

And, finally. It is only relevant and valued I share something from Joanne Carlson Brown…a cherished clergy colleague. In a recent Facebook she reminded me of this vision and truth from Howard Thurman. So. I end this year with each of you…with the “sending forth into 2016”. Grace and peace and light to each of us. Mark.

Howard Thurman Christmas Quote

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

