December 8…as important as December 7…in Giving Thanks

It is not December 7…but like December 7 December 8 is mportant to honor, to give thanks and to never forget…how MUCH we owe those who have served in the military. To that end, I share a gift I received yesterday…that is valued no less today…and in echo every tomorrow that will dawn.

I’ve shared with clarity and appreciation how much I value the friendship of my childhood neighbor, Doug White. We resided in the very early 1940’s in Northeast Portland. Now Doug and Kathy live in Eugene, Doug retired as a professor. Still, though, we bring as much value to the other as we can, primarily through the internet. Today I received the Christmas greeting from Doug. When I experienced it—because it’s not to be seen, it’s to be experienced—I thought of those for whom I am so very grateful. For they have served in a manner that has kept me safe…and I am the better for their serving our country.

I give thanks…

To our daughter-in-law, Jennifer, who serves as attorney in the military with Pentagon office and one tour in Afghanistan.

To Diane who served U.S. Army in Army Security Intelligence in Berlin.

To General Bob Dickman…when he went in total surprise to St. Louis to attend my graduation seminary when receiving the doctorate. No fanfare, no applause. Simply and so very profoundly his affirmation and value for our friendship. Now retired, he and his wife, Barb, live in Virginia. Still, we connect. Bob combined fidelity and competency in serving our country…and he still does through community programs to aide those much less fortunate than we.

To Greg, husband of Andrea—Andrea’s my niece. For serving more than once in Afghanistan…caring and serving. Quietly and faithfully and effectively.

To John and Dawn…for hosting the Wounded Warriors, frequently each year. The Wounded Warriors who’ve been honored with Purple Hearts. John and Dawn have built a special log cabin for the WW to stay with them…for fishing and hunting, yes. But even more, to know they will never be alone; nor will they be forgotten.

And no less and certainly not least…those whom each of you can name…who have served and made sure that freedom rings in our steps and lives. A ringing that will never be muted.

So, Doug? Thanks for the greeting…now to be shared. Filled with the heart and the hope of Christmas.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December 8…as important as December 7…in Giving Thanks

  1. Rydstrom Roger says:

    Thank you so much. Peace and love, I will share with my friends.

    Roger

Leave a Reply

