Why Forgiveness Is More Than A Good Idea

Yesterday the reflection was about how prayers should be more than deedless words. Another way is this: don’t amputate the Gospel. What we believe and how we live should not be strangers.

With that a glimpse on where I need to be better. In I Corinthians, part of the famous and often neglected I Corinthians 13, the offering of love, the Apostle Paul says we should not keep a record of wrongs.

I have trouble with that. Even deeper it’s been difficult over the years…now measured more than half-way through the 7th decade [which hopefully is not akin to decadent]…for me to not remember the negative. Kinda like the black-dot-syndrome.

It’s difficult to think of some people and not recall the moment, the word, the bruising deed, at least emotionally. Truth? I can remember when 14 an incident that crushed me. And with no hesitance, the crusher.

Perhaps more than a hunch…you can, too. The time when you were bruised or abused or neglected. Can excuse same and simply indicate this is evidence we are all human. Well? Yes, we are.

But what kind of human? A wrong-record-keeper?

All I can say is I’m working on it…to not hold the negative. That doesn’t mean to deny it or ignore it or to say it doesn’t matter. It DOES matter when a person takes their religion too seriously and uses their understanding of God or whatever name they use, to unload an assault rifle. [You didn’t ask, but I would do everything I could to not let assault rifles be sold.]

This means…it is important to forgive. That’s an agenda for me. Not that perfection and I are coincidence. Far from it. But. It does mean that I need to do a better job of not brewing anger in a cauldron of toxicity. Or something like that.

This morning, in reading her Facebook, my beautiful clergy colleague and trust-truth-friend, Joanne Carlson Brown, ministered to me…in terms of the best goal in the world of forgiveness. I post it…and will print it and put on my mirror…so when I see myself I might have a potential glimpse of knowing Shalom, the inner peace of the soul. Joanne? Thanks for this…and thanks for you…and thanks for a powerful way in which peace becomes more than a good idea. It becomes a virtual condition of the soul…and heart.

Blog benefit of forgiveness

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

