Excitement Reigns

I like the word ineffable. Which, at least in my understanding, means to not be able to fully describe the feeling, the impact, the value, the “sense of how important this is.”

And yet. I know there are certain dynamics that create the best focus in the world…and the vibrancy of being connected. These dynamics fuel excitement. Ah, yes!

Okay. Move on, Mark.

I will.

I start with a question: what is it that you are most compelled by…that gets your undivided attention…and that, truth transparent…does not tolerate distancing or, perish the thought, indifference?

I hope you can identify “what that is.”

For me? It’s family. In our marriage, for it’s the greatest source of joy and love in my life, Diane and I celebrate the covenant…to each give fully for the good of our relationship. Such joy!

Even more on family. Not that I am good at communicating or connecting. But. I think and pray for family every day. And yes, am certain this is not exceptional. Especially for those whose step is unsure, whose future is tentative and whose hope has lessened, or is moving in the wrong direction. That doesn’t mean I tell them of their importance in my life…oh I do emotionally and spiritually…but not in every instance of thought.

With that, I’m passionate and energized by fishing trips. It’s one of the greatest challenges to boredom and the nonchalant I know. Just to have a trip planned? Ah, the memories kick in…metaphorically it’s the time when my rear-view-mirror is its largest…thinking of the “last time” I fished that stream. But it’s also a great nourishment for the “hope reservoir,” which is to find goodness awaits. And not to ever throw away two t-shirts: “I fish, therefore I am”…”When the fish hear my name they tremble!”

I’m passionate and energized by walking Faith and Caleb…our English Cocker and Cavalier. They mean the world to Diane and me. Plus I believe they believe what’s important in their life are Diane and I.

I’m passionate about helping others…be it children across the earth to have something to eat…be it churches who realize they grow when they give…be it pastors whose ego never dwarfs their heart…be it a response to clergy colleagues who limp…and maybe, just maybe, a word or ear can benefit. If benefit happens? That’s because of God…never because of the self.

And, now risking a moment when the reader thinks if not utters, “Mark, leave it alone!”, I’m passionate about how the Broncos do. EVERY time they play, I’m in total focus and hoping they will not drop passes or fumble the ball or miss scoring. It’s game on for me…at least mentally.

In this I ask…on a Sunday morning…what about you? If you were to list your three most passionate realities…that is, what is it really you care most about…what would they be? In what part of your world does excitement reign?

Of course, and I hope fervently this is the case, there should be more.

And can it happen? The passionate foci are not limited. Or at least. You find new ones join in…so the heart and mind and soul, at least for these times, are never distanced from one another…and if the distance increases, never become unconnected?

Excitement reigns in your life in this manner…

Now. It’s your turn. Game on.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

