Life On The Small and Human Scale

I want to share my day named “yesterday.” But. First, I want to share the insights of a profound man, Tom Ehrich. Before that [okay, all a little jumbled, perhaps mumbled] I remembered something Bill Coffin preached the Sunday after John Kennedy was assassinated. He said, if there was any time in our lives…when devastation is in our heart and invading our soul, to give up on God was both timely and likely. He said, something like this, at least what I remember: “Have faith in God…especially now when there’s no human circumstance to prompt that.”

Back to Ehrich and then my own Monday morning circumstance:

At the end of the day, we can all “praise the Lord.” Not because we did our days right or got everything we wanted, but because “as long as I live,” “all my life long,” we have a God worthy of praise.

Not every day is stellar. Not every day is a triumph. Or even interesting. Not every venture succeeds. Or as a friend once said, “Some decades are better than others.” But God is God, and “my soul” is carried in God’s heart, whether or not I am making hay or hash of my time.

My day won’t set the world afire. Some will read Fresh Day magazine today and perhaps be moved by my poem “Turning Seventy.” Some will take a chance on my new book. Most of humankind won’t read a word I write. I didn’t notice another soul during my walk. Other football fans were rooting for other teams.

But God is God, and God is worthy of praise. Most of us live on a small and human scale. We touch a few lives. Some among us try to live large, some extremely large, spending millions to make their names known, courting our votes or our spending, so that they can have power and do with it what they consider important. Most of us know, however, that power isn’t life and those who hunger for power probably won’t use it for good.

It is life on the small and human scale that tends toward the good. That isn’t a matter of having power or acclaim or wealth or greatness in the eyes of others. The good happens as God happens: one life at a time, one word spoken truly, one word heard, one kindness, one act of mercy, one meal served to a hungry child of God, one poem, one touch of caring, one tear cupped with compassion, one prayer, one failing, one falling, one rising.”

Thanks, Tom Ehrich…your relevance and wisdom provide strength and encouragement and resolve.

To that my Monday morning is very up. My “want them to win” teams did yesterday. I think Peyton Manning deserves a new middle name: Phoenix, for he’s risen from the ashes of age and poor performance. In the Broncos win yesterday over the Packers he was better than impressive. The San Antonio Spurs won in Boston. The Mets lost in New York. I was pleased after last year’s World Series loss, the Royals from Kansas City [crazy name for a team] won this World Series.

More, though. This Monday morning I got up. As a friend defined being healthy: “I got up, I’m standing up and I’m still eating on my own.” In yesterday’s sermon we were encouraged to think of folk for whom we have special appreciation. I am doing that this morning.

But also pray for people who suffer, those for whom prognosis is more in terms of months than years, those who have been “stroked” recently.

In other words, believe in God and live in faith…no matter what. That’s easy to offer on a new day of a new week. But. May each of you who read this, pay attention to Tom Ehrich’s offering this morning. And when you mirror your day today, know that Lucy McCorkle, a so-enthusiasitc and supportive member of a church I served in the 70’s gave me. A nice pastor-looking-dummy that says, “I’m me. I’m beautiful. Cuz God don’t make junk!”

Nope. God don’t. Not one of us is exempt from being good and beautiful. Believe it. And may each of us, no matter what, walk the talk and be Transfomers. Of what we believe into how we live.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

