Valley of Tears…A Prayer

The wealth of knowledge does not lead to the paucity of caring. The verbiage of prayer is never academic. Living life is not less than knowing whether we live or whether we die, we belong. We belong to God and we belong to each other. For each of us, we know a lot. With that may it be that our knowledge is beyond facts and dates and what has happened. May the knowledge bond with wisdom…and, no less, faith. That who we are cannot be vanquished. And who we are…is of value…a value that cancer or the personal hemorrhage of relationships cannot eliminate.

Oh. It can reduce the reservoir of hope…when the medical report drains. But. May we know that a “valley of tears” is not side-stepped? Rather, in this day, when we sing “Happy Birthday” to Brian, when we wait for the Mayo Clinic report on recommended medical treatment for his brain cancer, labeled Aplastic-Astrocytoma, may he and we know…that no matter what…God fortifies our spirit and gives our relationship even greater value and viability.

We matter. Each of us matters.

To that end, my mentor, Fred Trost, shared this prayer.

When we pray…for God’s presence…and for those in our lives whose journey stumbles…through no fault of themselves…may we speak this prayer…along with asking God to be with us…and to never leave us. My faith realizes God’s presence and the caring we give to others and accept from others…ah, yes, good news…that prevails…

A prayer for each of us…I invite you, say it with me…

“You,… who are the God of patience and consolation, strengthen me that I may bear the yoke and burden of the Lord, without any uneasy and useless murmurs, or ineffective unwillingness. Most merciful and gracious Father, I am unable to stand under the cross, unable by myself, but be pleased to ease this load by fortifying my spirit, that I may be strongest when I am weakest, and may be able to do… all things through Christ who strengthens me. Let me pass through the valley of tears,… with safety and peace, with a humble spirit, and a sense of the divine mercies, through Jesus Christ. Amen.” (Jeremy Taylor, 1613-1667)

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Valley of Tears…A Prayer

  1. Linda says:

    Amen
    My prayers and positive thoughts are with you and your family and especially
    Brian.

Leave a Reply

