When Peach Cobbler Is Medicine

I’ve never known if I was born left-handed. Not that it makes a difference. I do remember my first baseball glove fit on my right hand. But not in the first week of life.

Came across this link [see below] this morning and wondered how apt? So much is inapplicable, especially because of the short-shrift to left-handedness in the Bible.

Yet, handedness? Is that critical? Okay. More curious than critical.

What is critical…and I will be surprised if a negative vote toward this: how do we relate to life and its circumstances, be they good or bad?

One answer: make peach cobbler.

Our nephew, Brian, came home yesterday. Mayo report still to be received. Some will do “the numbers,” in terms of how rapidly the cancer will gain a total upper hand. In the meantime, though. And a quick note that all of life is “in the meantime,” it really is. In the meantime, what can each of us do to relate to Brian and to let him know he’s not isolated from life?

Well, the inside self may feel that way. Wouldn’t it in some manner for each of us? But, for those of us who are not waiting for a Mayo Clinic report, what will we offer Brian? Or Shelly in Wisconsin? Or any friend [even foe, since each of us has them, too] who’s been diagnosed with something that has life-threatening in its prognosis?

My wife, Diane, commented last night, “I’m going to make peach cobbler. That’s Brian’s favorite.” And so. This afternoon Brian will get some peach cobbler. And, you know? He can have it as an appetizer, the dessert first. And muse that he’s sitting in a Paris eatery where dessert isn’t always served last. And for Brian to know…with the peach cobbler comes love and affirmation and presence and prayers. Whether or not we are left-handed. Because handedness is so less important than heartedness.

For the left-handers reading the blog, here’s the link…see if you line up…and to think, I didn’t even mention ‘til now about being in our right mind…

http://www.msn.com/en-us/lifestyle/smart-living/fun-facts-about-left-handers/ss-BBlmaFR#image=17

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Peach Cobbler Is Medicine

  1. Howard M. Skoien says:

    I know I have located you. Where you are, I’m not sure?, but I know you are the minister who married Diane and me at St.Paul’s Church, Fullerton Parkway on August 16th, 1969. Today we listened to a tape of our wedding ceremony. It is just as beautiful today as it was then. We listen to it each year and realize how greatful we are to have it. It’s our private renewal of our vows. The Lord has blessed us in so many ways. I’m now 82, Diane 73, both retired teachers in good health. We are the parents of three, all were baptized at St Pauls by Pastor Trost. Now we are the proud grandparents of 6 wonderful children. We haven’t strayed far from Chicago, living in Lake Bluff,Il since 1970. I feel so fortunate that you are locatable. Howard

Leave a Reply

