To Keep A Record Of Wrongs…Is Wrong!

Some. Some with no restraint and lots of ink. Keep a record of wrongs. And. Never forget. Have seen that in the summaries of the political debates. Can you imagine? Former Governor Perry lauded the leadership of President Ronald Raven. And. What’s this about the Trump card…he and his long-time political advisor have parted ways. Shucks. I can even point out clergy who keep other ministers from applying for a new position…or ministers who pass motions with their board that forgives major loans and refuse to convey the information to others. Ah. The list goes on.

Keeping a record of wrongs. I can even tell you about a fishing guide that Diane and I had the brashness to interview! We had just moved to Washington and wanted to know about fishing for steelhead on the Skagit River. John, the guide, was great. He took us the day after Thanksgiving. Diane, with no surprise because she combines skill and luck better than anyone else I’ve fished with, hooked a beautiful steelhead. “Beautiful steelhead” is never an oxymoron. She played it so well, even kept it from going under a large tree that was submerged. John asked for the net. I looked. And looked. And looked. NO NET! He had forgotten it. He tried to hand land the steelhead but the pinging leader told the fate: fish long gone.

Hey. It happened. Then the next Fall, which for us is always a time of year and not a theological condition, John took us casting for Coho salmon. What a blast. We went upstream on the Skagit. He anchored and began to cast…as did we. I thought we were too close and didn’t keep it to myself, “John, we a little too close?” He said nothing, made a cast, set the hook and handed me his rod…a beautiful Coho [yep, the picture at the end of this blog verifies the truth]. He then announced my new title, “Dr. Miller? You now have a new name: GIT. That means Guide In Training.” That name will never be outlived…or forgotten.

Okay. I could chart each guide like John…good and bad all wrapped up together. I could list the wrongs. But, you know? That’s not helpful…or even justified.

For John Koenig…and he and Dawn are one of my favorite wedding couples…the truth is so much stronger and more alive than the errors, fishing net or not. He and Dawn host the Wounded Warriors at their home acreage. They have built a fabulous cabin and often during the year have veterans join them for hunting and fishing and resting. What a ministry. What a ministry.

So, the goodness of John and Dawn exudes. And I’m honored to be their favorite GIT. Have even scheduled a couple of days to cast for Coho this October. And. You know what? I won’t say one word about where he anchors! Or. If he has his net in the sled boat!

On the personal health side of things…Brian, our 31 year old nephew battling brain cancer, had the brain biopsy on Thursday. They learned yesterday the pathology report won’t happen until this Monday. Yep, very frustrating. But Brian knows of our love and our hopes for healing…and knows he’s no stranger to God. Thanks to so many of you for continued prayers.

John didn’t anchor too close!:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And. Most important: John and Dawn and the Wounded Warriors having a fabulous adventure at Camp Stillwater in Concrete, Washington. How beautiful. A great river, beautiful mountains and joy with each Warrior. Yes!

John Koenig and Wounded Warriors

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Keep A Record Of Wrongs…Is Wrong!

  1. Don Collins says:

    I think it’s great that John & Dawn share their cabin with Wounded Warrior project. Having been in the Korean War I feel I’m entitled to say that.,
    Don Collins

  2. John Koenig says:

    Thank you for the very kind words GIT… Love and light as always and sending extra prayers “Mom’s” way today.
    I swear it was the first and last time I ever forgot my net at home!!! Lol That’s what I get for trying to wash my boat for you the day before our trip.
    Don,
    Thank you for your service and kind comment.
    We are not associated with the “Wounded Warrior Project” (WWP). Dawn and I are both associates of the “Wounded Warriors In Action Foundation” (WWIA) and there are some really big differences between the two organizations.
    For one, the WWIA is a Purple Heart recipient only organization for our nation’s combat wounded Veterans the WWP is not. Two, the WWP is a post 9-11 organization, the WWIA covers all eras of military service.
    You can check out more about and why are hearts and souls are so into the WWIA by visiting our website at http://www.wiaf.org

Leave a Reply

