Graced By A Voice

Doug White and I go back. Way back. He lived on N.E. 26th Street, between Highland and Holman in Portland and I lived on the corner of N.E. 25th and Holman. We were the same birth year, the same high school. He’s now retired in Eugene. I’m about to be retired in Austin. We continue to share ideas and fishing pictures.

Hadn’t thought of him when I arrived tonight in Forks, Washington. Truth is I checked into the less-than-famous Pacific Inn Motel, Room #104, awaiting my Oregon guide and dear friend, Zorba, to arrive. Tomorrow we launch our 3rd Annual March Steelhead trip with Bob Ball. The rain was unrelenting…a real blessing because of the many days of dry weather.

As you can appreciate I’ve been thinking a lot of the completed interim ministry. My last Sunday, March 1, I will never forget. Lost it emotionally when Diane and I arrived at the church—the signboard said, DR. MARK MILLER—SO LONG, PARTNER! The folk of the church are so caring for each other and receptive to new possibilities for how church can happen. As I said, have been thinking of them often.

With that Diane and I are loading most of the boxes for our soon-to-be-happening-move…all the clothes, all the books, and, of course, all the fishing gear—rods, reels, nets, boots, waders, heavy coats. “On the road again” to Leander, Texas…a new home, with family—to be active in grand parenting and family times.

So it was…arriving tonight at Pacific Inn, ready to welcome Zorba and share tomorrow fishing.

Then it happened. I went to my e-mail…and my life-long friend, Doug White, sent me an e-mail…I stopped everything, closed off all thoughts of fishing [yep, I really did!], packing, making sure the closing of one house happens in good time so the closing on the new home isn’t delayed. Life is essentially now making sure we don’t dot t’s and cross I’s.

As I said. Then it happened. I opened Doug’s email and was swept away. Never have I been impacted…taken to a new place…that is spiritual and valued and “right.” [That’s for being on target, not any political tendency.]

So. Please take some time…if not now…promise me you will. It is a gift from Doug to me. And from me to you. The grace and power and total breathtaking voice of this 9 year old girl. Doug wrote this in preparation. But honestly, nothing can every prepare you…be graced and know, life has value and goodness…especially within the soul and center-place of our heart.

Close your eyes and forget that she’s a nine year old! In a very short time she has learned to sing and sing most beautifully and remember, she has had only a minimum of vocal training! It’s beyond words!! Truly one of the most amazing talents that has come out of these TV talent shows from many, many countries! Her name is Amira Willihagen. Her voice…no words can be adequate in description.

About Mark H Miller

Diane and I live in Leander, Texas. This past June 17, 2015 I celebrated the 49th anniversary of my ordination. We returned to Texas after three years in Washington, during which I served as interim minister in Bellevue/Eastgate and Mercer Island. Am planning to begin a 5th novel that will have my protagonist, Tricia Gleason, serve a year in licensed ministry in Snoqualmie, Washington. The novel, "The Lemon Drop Didn't Melt," will find Tricia wrestling with ministry challenges. None of which more daunting than someone wanting her breathing to stop. All the published novels are available on Amazon and Amazon Kindle under Mark Henry Miller. A primary goal in our return to Texas is to make sure grandchildren get lots of attention--here and in Chicago and Washington, D.C. Traveling is definitely an activity that will not slow down. With that, of course, fishing will happen. To that the t-shirt is apt, "I fish; therefore I am." In addition to novels, the book of Blogs, "Voice Of My Heart," is also available on Amazon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

